Husband: You have to get undressed to have sex. (Ok not entirely true).  What I would like to say is that when it comes to getting undressed I routinely rip my wife’s clothes off.  You know, buttons fly off, cloth ripping, she gasps and falls helplessly across the bed… But in reality its more often like:  moan,  tug,  nudge.

Wife:  When I think about undressing, I think about our wedding night.  To this day we both laugh remembering the crazy awkward way we undressed.  I like the idea of undressing as part of foreplay; steamy, wild or even silly…but undressing has slipped quietly undercover.

The book of Hebrews Chapter 12  had something to say about stripping off encumbrances and the sins that entangle us:

Bible Reading: Hebrews 12:1

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us

DEVOTION: 

In first years of marriage we “ran” at full speed.  At times the weight of our responsibilities slowed us down tired us out.  Getting tripped up by our own or one another’s sin usually caused injuries and usually brought our sex life to a stand still.  Sin in this verse means “missing the mark”.  By definition this sin  is self-originated (self-empowered)  and it is not originated or empowered by God.  Yup, guilty!  I focus on my partner missing the mark, or I think my partner  focused on me missing the mark, or me thinking I missed the mark …  Those thoughts are crippling!  (The old not good enough messages or I/YOU screwed this up message)  I think about Adam and Eve naked in the garden before they started pointing fingers at who was disobedience.  If only stripping away the sin place on ourselves and each other could be stripped away like a piece of clothing before a race.

PRAYER:  Lord, we know it is not your will that we would be tripped up by our sins.  Remove anything that hinders us from being closer to you and closer to each other.  Amen

DEVOTION ACTIVITY: Bound and stripped

  • Tool box:  Rope, extra long sock (our favorite), tape, or cuffs to tie hands together.
  • Wife: Dress up for this activity. lots of layers and clothes that can be easily ripped off.
  • Husband: Clasp right hands together tuck in the sock and tie them together so you cannot grab with that hand.
  • Together:  Ready set go.  With one hand unusable the object of the game is to strip your partner or keep from being stripped.  Game ends when one of you is stripped.

Her Experience:  I was definitely at a disadvantage.  I was not so interested in getting his clothes of as I was interested in keeping my clothes on.  I was aware that I hadn’t laughed so much in a long while.  

His Experience: I could see it getting nowhere as my wife stayed at arms distance so I couldn’t strip her.  I still laugh at the image of the two of us rolling around on the ground. We laughed a lot and stress really melted away.

BIBLE TAKE AWAY:  

Job 8:21 He will once again fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.

 

VARIATIONS: This devotion has lots of possibilities. I imagine different Bible take aways.   Tools can range from costumes (veiled dance or strip tease), rope or cuffs (tag game).  Cards or a game (strip poker). 

How about a Male Strip Tease?  Check out youtube How to Video How to strip for your wife

 Suggested Tip Sheet Reading: How to Strip  (offsite reading from: http://Theundefiledmarriagebed.com)  

If you like please share.  If you have a different Bible Take away or would like to share your experience please let us know.  We love to hear from our readers.

 

Please let us know your experience or yourBible take-away. (and let us know if you wish to remain annonymous)

